Word wrapping

Report problems or request help with this forum

Moderator: jecris27

Post Reply
User avatar
Elaine
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:17 pm
Location:
Website:

Word wrapping

Post by Elaine » Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:24 pm

Anybody know why the text wraps in the box you enter it in but not in the actual post. Have I got some setting wrong? See my post in DVDs "While We Wait" for an example of what I mean. Thanks.

User avatar
gabi
Site Admin
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:23 am
Location:
Website:

Post by gabi » Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:34 pm

When posting links, the forum tends to keep them in a single line. Sometimes, that makes a very long line.
My recommendation for long links is to use either tinyurl or the BBCode :

{url=http://www.yourlink.com}name of the link{/url} replacing { } by [].

User avatar
Elaine
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:17 pm
Location:
Website:

Post by Elaine » Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:53 pm

Thanks, gabi, for the TinyURL link -- I always wondered how that was done! But the links in the post in question seem to be fine. It's the text in the first line that didn't wrap. Weird.

User avatar
gabi
Site Admin
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:23 am
Location:
Website:

Post by gabi » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:13 pm

I edited your post to make one of the links smaller.

About the text, when you are writing it, it looks like it is wrapped because the space where you are writing is small, but if you click on preview before posting it, you should see how the post will look like in the forum. The length of the lines is different in both cases.

User avatar
Elaine
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:17 pm
Location:
Website:

Post by Elaine » Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:25 am

Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Issues”